Return to Headlines

NAHS Athletic Hall of Fame Induction - 2023

Athletic Hall of FameThis year, we recognize the 2003 New Albany Girls Varsity Basketball Team for their State Final Four appearance on the 20th anniversary of this achievement. Representing the only D2 public school in Ohio to advance to the Final Four in 2003, the Lady Eagles finished 3rd respectfully. 

(Pictured L-R) Coach Jim Morgan, Coach Rex Reeder, Dana Doran-Myers, Stacie Shockey, Coach Bethany Warthen, Coach Harry Sage, Lauren Creasap, Rachel White and Kelli Hughes.

The 2003 Girls Basketball Team is the only team to compete in the State Final Four in the history of the program. With a season record of 23 - 3, the lady Eagles were undefeated on their home court and in the league with 14 victories and 0 losses, yet another record for the girls basketball program. 

The 2002-2003 lady Eagles were league champions for the third year in a row, District Champions for the second year in a row, Regional champions for the first time in the school's history and placed 3rd at the State Semi-Finals after succumbing to Villa Angela St. Joseph High School who took it all in the end. Countless individual recognitions at the league, district and state levels were achieved by individual players and coaches as well. This group of women and coaches put New Albany Girls Basketball on the map and anyone who was part of the ride will tell you how special this team was and how much fun they were to watch. Thank you lady Eagles and congratulations on your Hall of Fame Induction. 

2003 Girls Basketball Team Roster

Lauren Creasap, Kelli Hughes, Dana Doran-Myers, Jessica Cromp, Megan Cromp, Erin Dunsmore, Stacie Shockey, Rachel White, Whitney Burris, Whitney Renee, Kristen Cathell, Kelsey Burris, Morgan Hoover, Rhea Davidson and Deanna Pickett 

Rex Reeder, Bethany Warthen, Harry Sage, Brian Weikert and Jim Morgan