Return to Headlines

2021-22 Archie Griffin Sportsmanship Award recipients selected

New Albany Middle School students, 8th-graders Rohan Thung and Diya Sakthivelan have been selected to receive the Ohio High School Athletic Association’s prestigious Archie Griffin Sportsmanship Award. The award, named for two-time Heisman Trophy winner Archie Griffin, is presented each year to a male and female student who has been outstanding in their efforts to promote sportsmanship in their school and community.

This year’s honorees were presented with their awards Thursday, May 19th, at Veterans Stadium at the Middle School Pep Rally. The Archie Griffin Sportsmanship Award, sponsored by the Ohio High School Athletic Association is designed to promote sportsmanship, ethics, and integrity.

Middle School Archie Griffin Award Winners

Archie Griffin Award winners 2022

Rohan Thung participates in tennis, swimming, and plays two instruments. Outside of school, Rohan volunteers with the Buddy Up Program and is a member of the National Honor Society.

Diya Sakthivelan is a scholar and science olympian. Outside of school, Diya volunteers in her community and started a program, called “Kindness Koala” as an sixth grader.

Middle School Archie Griffin Award Runner-ups- Excellence Award Recipients

Archie Griffin Runners Up

Dean Matt and Mary Kidwell

The Ohio High School Athletic Association strongly supports good sportsmanship among the youth and adults in our schools and workplaces.