Skip To Main Content

Current Member Schools of the Win-Win Agreement

  • Canal Winchester Local Schools
  • Columbus City Schools
  • Dublin City Schools
  • Franklin County Educational Service Center (now known as the Educational Service Center of Central Ohio)
  • Hamilton Local Schools
  • New Albany-Plain Local Schools
  • Gahanna-Jefferson Local Schools
  • Groveport Madison Local Schools
  • Hilliard City Schools
  • South-Western City Schools
  • Westerville City Schools


Suburban districts may opt out of the agreement, as Reynoldsburg did in 1998, by notifying all other districts included in the compact during a two-month termination window that occurs every six years. Opting out of the Win-Win Agreement would have three primary results:

  • The New Albany-Plain Local Schools would no longer make payments on the territory within its borders that was annexed by the City of Columbus before the 1986 Agreement;
  • Columbus City Schools could request the transfer into its District of any or all territory within the City of Columbus that is located within the New Albany-Plain Local School District, with such transfer requiring approval by the State Board of Education after a process set forth by Ohio law and regulations; and
  • Areas within the New Albany-Plain Local School District that are not in the City of Columbus would no longer automatically transfer to the Columbus City Schools upon annexation, but would instead remain in the New Albany-Plain Local School District unless and until they are transferred into the Columbus City School District pursuant to the State Board of Education’s territory transfer process.